SMR conducts two local officers election

By Norberto P. Llerin 

The Associated Labor Unions - Southern Mindanao Region (ALU-SMR) facilitated the election of officers in two local unions in the area, one from the transport group and the other from the printing press sector.  ALU-SMR personnel served as members of the COMELEC during the process.

The CCJRC Liner Employees Union, a pioneer local union of ALU-SMR held its local officers election on July 20, 2011.  The union has a total of 195 members, including bus drivers, conductors, field inspectors, terminal in-charge and motor-pool personnel.

Since union members are in different locations during election day and to ensure that everyone can cast their votes conveniently, the election was simultaneously conducted in two polling places namely: Barrio Obrero Garage in Davao City and Sto. Tomas Garage in Davao del Norte.  The official counting and proclamation of winners were held right after the canvassing of votes was completed. 

The newly elected CCJRCEU officers are: President: Bro. Gerald N. Lao; Vice President: Bro. Jessie B. Baliao; Secretary: Bro. Sonny Lyod Sanchez; Treasurer: Sis. Enancia Elezar; Auditor: Bro. Gerald J. Lom-oc; Board of Directors: Bro. Narciso Pugoy, Bro. Resty Eduaba, Bro. Rove M. Añora, Bro. Romeo Ortis and Bro. Pedro Baay. 

Likewise, the Midtown Printing Press Workers Union (MPPWU) held its local officers election on June 11, 2011. MPPWU has about 50 members.  Serving as COMELEC were ALU Operations Officer Rodrigo T. Molde as Chairman, ALU organizer Renante Billones and Tesoro Printing Press union president Rogel Edejer.

Winners were proclaimed immediately after the official canvassing was completed, and took their oath before ALU Regional Vice President for Southern Mindanao Jessie N. Pagaran. 

The new MPPWU officers are: President: Bro. Virgilio A. Gementiza (incumbent); Vice President: Sis. Mayla R. De Chavez; Secretary: Sis. Nodva Lequin; Treasurer: Bro. Brendo A. Fernandez; Auditor: Sis. Bebelita Maria E. Ocop; Board of Directors: Bros. Elmer V. Dulay, Rey T. Remulta, Cris Oliver F. Abas, Geoffrey O. Buhayan, Adelo R. Borja, and Arnold M. Cierros.

Pagaran said all duly elected officers in both unions will have a term of five (5) years.  He also guaranteed that both elections were carried out in complete compliance with the mandatory requirements provided for in their respective Constitution and By-laws.